A Case of the Paydays…AKA ‘The WSJ Top 11’

On the 15th and 30th of each month, I have a case of what my coworker and I dubbed as “a case of the paydays” meaning that when payday comes, the first thought that comes to my mind is ‘what should I shop for this time’ instead of the smarter, yet less fun option of ‘saving my money for a rainy day’.  Its hard to have such a love and passion for fashion and all things wonderful when you can’t have the things you desire right?  Now I don’t go all crazy on those paydays as one might think.  I’d like to consider myself a very practical shopper- really thinking about what I’m buying, not spending too much money on ridiculously over-priced items.  For example-today I had some errands to run down State Street.  Knowing I was going to pop in Ulta and Steve Madden, I searched online websites for any available printable coupons in case I found something I wanted to buy.  I was successful with the Ulta coupons, but not so much with Steve Madden.  Anyways, to further help these shopping impulses I create a want list each month as I peruse all the fashion mags I subscribe to.  I write down items and/or tear out pictures of things I think I might want to buy and put them aside.  Then when those paydays come around I have a list to go through-and you know what?  There have been many times where I’ve changed my mind on those items on my ‘want list’.  Good thing I didn’t do some major impulse shopping right?  I’ve decided to turn this into a monthly list to provide you with the top 11 things I want this month.  I say 11 because 1) it’s my favorite number and 2) because sometimes it’s hard to narrow it down to just 5 or 10 things :).  As you can see from the picture below, I’m obviously having an accessories moment.

Here’s this month’s WSJ Top 111) Minus the Leather Jacket, $98, Express 2) OPI ‘Cuckoo for this Color’, $8.50, Ulta 3) Plain Jane Leopard Satchel, $69.99, Nine West 4) Mac Liquidlast Eyeliner in Inkspill, $16.50, Macy’s 5) ‘Caryssa’ platform pump, $89, Steve Madden 6) Ultra Chi 1 inch Flat Iron, $99.95, Ulta 7) Michael Kors Two Tone Crystal Watch, $180, Nordstrom  8 ) Sam Edleman ‘Sutton’ Over the Knee Boot, $149.99, Nordstrom 9) Stein & Blye Tri-Color Chain Necklace, $48, Nordstrom 10) OPI ‘The Color to Watch’, $8.50, Ulta 11) Kensie Faux Fur Vest, $78, Nordstrom

2 responses to “A Case of the Paydays…AKA ‘The WSJ Top 11’

  1. Rach–I actually bought that jacket from Express…AMAZING! Great minds think alike. 🙂

  2. Rach, I love this idea of planning more carefully what items you want and waiting to purchase them. Oh to have a real job that actually provides a regular paycheck. In my line of work (serving), payday is every day. Bringing home cash has its positives and negatives. I have started a “case of the paydays” fashion jar. After every shift I come home and make a small donation. Then when I find something I like, I don’t have to worry about having the money! I’ll consult WSJ on the latest trends and head out to shop. Hopefully soon I can shop with my own personal Rachel Zoe, Rachel Wester. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

