Mani Monday: Into the Wild

Ever since I got my Konad nail art stamping plates, I’ve been anxiously awaiting an opportunity to use the cheetah print on the M57 plate.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Konad- it’s a nail imprinting kit that allows you stamp pre-designed images on your nails.  You paint over the design plate with the desired nail polish color, scrape off the excess polish with a special scraper tool, then use the special stamping tool to pick up the image from the plate to transfer to your nail.  It really sounds more complicated than it is- just ask the coworkers who’ve come over to my place a few times for wine and manicure night and do their own Konad stamping.

The main color for this manicure was OPI’s Uh-Oh Roll Down the Window from the fall 2011 Touring America Collection.  Even though the name of the color doesn’t bring pleasant thoughts to mind (eww) the unique olive green color is gorgeous and compliments my olive skin tone.  When I bought this color at Ulta a few weeks ago, I was worried it would be too similar to Essie’s ‘Sew Psyched‘ from last year’s fall collection.  However,  this green has a little more yellow to it.  The application was much better than I expected.  All it took was two coats for solid coverage- and no streaking.  Here’s the comparison of Sew Psyched (left) and Uh-Oh Roll Down the Window (right).

For this manicure I started with Essie’s First Base Base Coat, then added two coats of OPI’s ‘Uh-oh Roll Down the Window’.  For the cheetah print accented just my ring finger and thumb and used Sinful ‘Black on Black’ and Konad plate.  Tip for those trying out the Konad plates- I’ve found it helps to roll the stamper on to the plate from bottom to top, then on the nail from side to side.  For the inside of the cheetah print I used the Marbling and Dotting Nail Tool from Sephora and dipped it in Sinful ‘This is It’.  I finished it off with Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat.  Voila!

One response to “Mani Monday: Into the Wild

  1. Pingback: The West Street Journal

Leave a Reply

