Wedding Wednesday: Flower Power

As I get more and more ahead of myself with wedding preparations (or at least what I think is ahead for being over a year and just under 2 months away) I’ve realized that the aesthetic is definitely becoming a huge focus for me.  I want to walk into the reception room and and love every bit of every part that I look at.  One of the dilemmas I was facing was whether or not to use real flowers or artificial flowers as part of my vision.  As much as I adore the smell of fresh flowers, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go to all that expense for just one day.  I also wasn’t sure if the flowers in the colors that I wanted would even be in season at the time of my wedding.  Since our wedding is going to be in the fall-warm, rich fall hues were definitely in the cards, so I decided to weigh my options.  Here are some of the pros and cons I considered:

Artificial Flowers

Pros

  • Artificial flowers have become much more realistic looking then they used to be
  • They don’t wilt and will retain their beauty for years
  • For the most part, they will likely be less expensive then real flowers
  • Artificial flowers in every shape and color are always in season
  • They are lightweight and easy to carry (bouquets) and more durable
  • They don’t need watering
  • You won’t have to worry about allergies
  • The arrangements, centerpieces, bouquets, etc can be prepared well in advance so there’s no rush to complete them before the big day
  • They are perfect for getting an exact color match

Cons

  • You run the risk of the flowers looking cheap or completely artificial
  • There’s no ‘fresh cut flower’ scent
  • If you spend money on good artificial flowers- they could cost just as much as the real ones do

Real Flowers

Pros

  • Nothing can replace the scent of a real flower
  • A really good artificial bloom may not necessarily be cheaper
  • Real flowers are breathtaking and even the best artificial blooms cannot replace the look or feel of the real thing

Cons

  • Allergies- you don’t want your guests red-eyed and stuffy nosed
  • More often then not- to get the total look you want, they will likely be more expensive then artificial flowers
  • It can be difficult to get the exact colors you are looking for
  • The flowers you want may not be in season
  • Depending on the time of year of your ceremony- they may have to be climate controlled so that they don’t wilt or freeze
  • Fresh blooms are often not seen until just before the big day so if there are any problems, they may not be fixable or very costly to fix
  • Not as durable as artificial flowers
  • They don’t last very long and are difficult to preserve

Judging by my list of pros and cons, the obvious choice for me was to go with artificial blooms.  While the aesthetic was important- the look of the flowers (color, arrangement, type of flower) was more important then whether or not they were the real deal or smelled nice (I have vanilla votives to cover the scent aspect).  Budget is also a huge concern, so I wanted to DIY as much as I could-flowers included.  Because of all these things- I decided to head to Michael’s and get to work.  I took full advantage of the 50% off sale on all the fall blooms and purchased a majority of the flowers I wanted.  Here’s a peek of what I got:Don’t you love the fall colors and cascading blooms??  I cannot wait to create the centerpieces and bouquets out of these gorgeous flowers!

Leave a Reply

